top of page

Doing the Happy Dance


Today was my first checkup at Henry Ford Hospital the since I was listed for my lung transplant. I'll admit, I was nervous. I wasn't really sure what to expect other than I'd have some breathing tests. Well, I surprised even myself! I had to do what is called an "O2 Dosing." This is a super enjoyable walk (ha!) up and down a 90 meter hallway with a pulmonologist keeping track of my oxygen needs.

Back and forth, back and forth, back and forth.

Oooooh, the fun. The last time I was there, about two months ago, I needed 7 liters per minute (LPM) of oxygen to do this. That's the most I've EVER needed. But this time? I was able to do it at 6 LPM. That's an improvement!

Ya, me!

Then it was off to "the Tube." The dreaded pulmonary function test where they make me sit in this awful plexiglas tube (which, btw, is NOT a good place for someone with claustrophobia) and breathe in and blow out through a tube while they have a giant clothespin on my nose. Yeah, it's a hoot.

But, today this torture chamber, I mean, testing device, showed that my lung function.....

<< Drum roll, please>> ....improved!

I went from 16% two months ago up to 17%. Hey, when you're dealing with such tiny amounts, any little bit is a major victory!

So, that was my day. Two tiny improvements but still on the transplant list. You know what? I'll take it.

And I have going back in three months to do it all over again to look forward.

Woot! Just in time for the holidays. Hope Santa will be good to me then!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page