top of page

I May Be Famous!


Okay, maybe not necessarily FAMOUS, but I may be on the front page of the local newspaper. Okay, maybe not the front page, but I did spend the afternoon being interviewed by a columnist from the Lansing State Journal. She does a lot of human interest stories, and wifey contacted her about my story. She was very interested, especially with me having worked for the State and wifey being a teacher. So, she contacted us and set up a time for this afternoon.

She started with, "where would you like to start?" Wifey and I just looked at one another. Where do you start when talking about a genetic condition? Birth? From when I was diagnosed? From when I was put on the transplant list? We were flummoxed.

Fortunately the columnist started asking questions about my childhood, my family, how Wifey and I met.

We shared a lot of our personal stories and many of the struggles. From how it felt to get my diagnosis. How the diagnosis has affected our marriage and our daily lives. How I offered Wifey a divorce after I was diagnosed. Wait. WHAT?!? You what?!?!

Yes. I offered her a divorce. Not because I didn't love her, but because I love her madly. I wanted to spare her the pain and heartache that would come with my condition, the ups and downs of being tied to oxygen 24/7. I wanted her to have the chance for a normal life.

Lucky for me, she didn't take the bait. She stuck it out, which is good for me because I hadn't planned what I'd do if she had agreed and left me. So much for planning ahead. But, I digress. The columnist loved our story. She loved our relationship. She loved everything about us (or at least is a very, VERY accomplished actress). So, it looks like we'll have an article about my condition, my potential transplant, organ donation, and my upcoming benefit dinner in the local newspaper.

Let's get the word out there, peeps. Alpha 1 sucks.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page